Skip to main content

Maine Casinos & Gambling Laws

Jonn Seo | January 20, 2020 | Updated on: November 28th, 2024

maine-casinosThere are three racetracks operating in Maine today, each of them offers live betting and also an off-track racebook. Two racetracks offer table games and slots. One of the casinos has a poker room. There is also a state lottery and charitable beano and bingo. There is a limited number of Maine betting options to pick from. Horse racing is the oldest type of betting, however, now that casino games are introduced to the racetracks, they look more like casinos. We have compiled this guide to help you know much about gambling in Maine. Read on for more!

Best Online Casinos USA

Maine Casinos & Gaming

  • Year Maine Gambling was regulated: Racing (1935), Bingo (1975), Lottery (1973), Maine Racinos (2004).
  • Estimated Tax Revenue: $120 million.
  • Estimated Gaming Revenue: $390 million.
  • Maine legal Gambling Age: Lottery, racing, and bingo: 18 years & casinos: 21 years.

Maine Casinos Guide

There are no types of legal Maine web gambling. It is not a state that takes part in mobile off-track betting. Daily fantasy sites also claim an exemption under Maine’s skill gambling laws. State officials haven’t published an opinion on the validity of daily fantasy sports.

Popular Casino Games

  • Slots
  • Blackjack
  • Poker
  • Craps/Roulette
  • Horses
  • Lottery

Live Gambling in Maine

Horse racing was the original type of gambling in Maine. There were six racetracks operating in the state; however, to date, there are three left. Slot machines and other casino games helped to keep two of the tracks in operation. The third track does not hold a Maine racino license. The three tracks in Maine have off-track gambling facilities. With two racetracks offering casino games they can be considered to be the only Maine casinos that are within state borders.

The only other kind of gambling in Maine are charitable and state lotteries. Charities can offer beano and bingo for low stakes. The Penobscot Tribe offers its players higher limits on these casino games on their sovereign land. Maine Lottery sells lotto games and scratch-off tickets. The Maine Lottery offers two daily Pick 3 and also Pick 4 drawings.

Maine Gambling Laws

According to Maine gambling laws, all gambling expansion should be approved through a state constitutional amendment. Only the state of Maine can offer a lottery under the constitution and existing gaming law. Maine gambling laws with regards to charities are very specific. A charity offering bingo and beano should have existed for two years and a gambling license is required. Charities are allowed to hold up to 27 weekends of bingo gambling games per year. These rules don’t apply to tribal bingo operations where casino games might be spread at any time due to the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act.

Tracks can offer live and off-track gambling. Online and mobile sites that take wagers on horse races are not lawful in Maine. Two racetracks –Hollywood Casino and Oxford Casino – are allowed to operate slots, table games, and video poker.


Maine Gambling History

Maine leaned on its conservative side of gaming for most of its existence. Its racing industry dates back to 1935, however, it held a monopoly for close to 40 years. A state lottery was launched in 1973. The first drawing got held on June 27, 1974.

In April 1985, Maine then joined a multi-state lottery compact with New Hampshire and Vermont. Charitable beano and bingo were legalized in 1975. After many years, as the horse racing industry began to lose momentum, Maine then decided to permit casino games to be offered at two sites.

List of Maine Casinos

Hollywood Casino – Bangor 1,000 Slot Machines 500 Main Street
Oxford Casino 850 Slot Machines 777 Casino Way
Scarborough Downs Only Racing 90 Payne Road

More State Casinos Guides:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Rhodes Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee